What a Ride

This started as a project with a huge vision and some guts. We’ve almost reached the halfway mark of the organization and I am overwhelmed. Working on the back end has become a monster with a life of its own. We’ve seen so many results and SO MUCH SUPPORT! And at the same time, it has been tough.

Most notably, tough emotionally. Walking into this I did not realize the magnitude of challenges that comes along with re-building a broken mother-daughter relationship. I did not realize how many things have gone unsaid. I did not realize how angry I am.

The communication between us is nonexistent except for aggression, blame, justification and tears. Both of us have stated things we have never before dreamt of saying out loud and some things that we wish had never been uttered at all. It is incredible how many things have come to the surface that I did not know existed. Both of us lack trust and respect but not commitment. We’ve walked away from each other and had time of silence. Silence through me as I close the doors and the windows and any way in. Silence for peace and silence of avoidance.

And somehow, we always come back to the table.

There are some mothers and daughters who never find a bridge, whose time has come and passed without repair. Some mothers and daughters are in the think of things much like us. And others who have made through to the other side.  No matter what happens in the next 6 months, I can say that I honour all mothers and daughter & the work that goes into mending the cuts and bruises to bring out the love.

I look forward to celebrating with you.

Blanca

Side note: Check out this WEtv reality show that focuses on the mother-daughter dynamic.

http://www.wetv.com/mother-daughter-questionnaire.html

2 Responses to “What a Ride”

  1. Kathryn Sharpe Says:

    In a world of division – cultural, ethnic, financial, educational, political, generational – integrity, and wisdom have become awash in random superciliousness.

    But You Daugher – you – speak from the heart. Your stuggles fervent and genuine.

    I feel as I have always, – your anguish will not be squandered. Speak up. Be just. Lead.

  2. Kathryn Sharpe Says:

    Your vulnerability brings tear to my eyes. I admire your brawn.

    You do not blame. In your quest, you search for answers. I love you. Mom

Leave a Reply

